T20 World Cup Winners List :2024

T20 World Cup Winners

An international cricket competition known as the T20 World Cup was staged for the first time in 2007 and is typically contested every two years.

Twelve teams competed in the first men’s twenty20 tournament, which took place in South Africa. In the Johannesburg final, the MS Dhoni-led Indian cricket team defeated Pakistan by five runs to claim the title of champions. India finished second in 2014 as well.

With two titles apiece, West Indies and England have emerged as the two most successful countries thus far in eight editions. In 2010, England won their first T20 World Cup in the Caribbean, defeating Australia by seven wickets in the championship match. Following a five-wicket victory over Pakistan in the championship match, the England cricket team won the 2022 title in Australia.

T20 World Cup Winners List

With this 2022 triumph, England made history by being the first team to win both the 2019 ODI World Cup and the 2022 T20 World Cup in men’s divisions.

However, because to their triumphs in the 2012 tournament in Sri Lanka and the 2016 edition in India, West Indies became the first team to win the T20 World Cup twice. In the 2012 final, the Caribbeans defeated Sri Lanka by 36 runs, while in the 2016 final, they defeated England by four wickets.

Pakistan and Sri Lanka, two more Asian countries, have also won the T20 World Cup. Pakistan won the 2009 tournament after finishing as runners-up in 2007. They defeated Sri Lanka in the final by eight wickets. Pakistan finished runners-up in the 2022 competition as well.

After finishing second in the 2009 and 2012 finals, Sri Lanka won the title in 2014 when they defeated India by six wickets.

Australia, who have won five men’s ODI World Cup championships, defeated New Zealand by eight wickets in the championship match to win their first-ever T20 World Cup in 2021. In the history of the men’s T20 World Cup, New Zealand is the only finalist not to take home the championship.

Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe, South Africa, and Zimbabwe are the other test-playing nations that have never won the T20 World Cup. They’re yet to qualify even for the finals. 

Thus far, nine countries have played host to the ICC T20 World Cup. India was awarded the hosting rights for 2021; but, because of the COVID-19 outbreak, the matches were played in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.

The T20 World Cup was first held in 2007 with 12 teams, but as of 2014, it has 16 teams competing.

The world organization that oversees cricket, the International Cricket Council (ICC), has declared that there will be 20 teams competing in four groups of five teams each in the 2024, 2026, 2028, and 2030 games. These groups will be followed by the Super Eights, semi-finals, and finals. While the remaining teams compete in the T20 World Cup Qualifier event, all full members automatically qualify for the tournament.

T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2024: Full List of Champions

Year Winner Runners-Up Hosts
2007 India Pakistan South Africa
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka England
2010 England Australia West Indies
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2014 Sri Lanka India Bangladesh
2016 West Indies England India
2021 Australia New Zealand UAE and Oman
2022 England Pakistan Australia

Related Search-

Orange Cap in IPL

T20 World Cup 2024 Points Table

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1) How many T20 World Cups did India win?

Only one, the first edition in 2007.

2) Has a team won the tournament more than once?

England and The West Indies.

3) Which team has made the most appearances in the T20 World Cup semifinals?

Pakistan (6 appearances). 


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top