Most Loyal Fan Base in the IPL

Most fours in the IPL

The IPL has generally been considered a batsman’s game given the calibre of the batsmen on display. Therefore, it shouldn’t come as a surprise when the batting records get shattered season after season. Here’s a look at who’s hit the most fours in the IPL: 

IPL 2024 Most Fours

1Virat KohliRCB357
2Rohit SharmaMI286
3Travis HeadSRH285
4Sunil NarineKKR266
5Sanju SamsonRR257
6Ruturaj GaikwadCSK256
7Faf du PlessisRCB247
8Philip SaltKKR246
9Sai SudharsanGT236
10Quinton de KockLSG206

Read more: Orange Cap in IPL

Most Fours in IPL history

1Shikhar Dhawan2106506766
2David Warner1676187661
3Virat Kohli2276888660
4Rohit Sharma2295901562
5Suresh Raina2055528506
6Gautam Gambhir1544217492
7Robin Uthappa2054952481
8Ajinkya Rahane1594135453
9Dinesh Karthik2304385439
10AB de Villiers1845162413

In terms of hammering fours in the previous 16 Indian Premier League seasons, veteran opener and current captain of the Punjab Kings (PBKS) Shikhar Dhawan tops the rankings. The only batsman in the lucrative competition to hit 600 or more fours is Dhawan, who has been in every IPL season to far. Dhawan made history in 2022 when he became the first batsman to reach 700 fours. In 210 games, the southpaw has hit 750 fours.

David Warner, the opener for the Delhi Capitals, is presently ranked second. The former captain of SunRisers Hyderabad has a stellar career to date, having hit 646 fours.

The IPL’s top run scorer, the renowned Virat Kohli, who has hit 643 fours to date, is next on the list. With 553 fours in 229 games, former MI captain Rohit Sharma is ranked fourth on the list. ‘Mr. IPL’s Suresh Raina completes the top 5 with 506 fours in 205 games. Ajinkya Rahane (453 in 159 matches) and Dinesh Karthik (439 in 230) are next in order, with former KKR colleagues Gautam Gambhir (492 in 152 matches) and Robin Uthappa (481 in 205 matches) at sixth and seventh place, respectively. The famous AB de Villiers, who went on to paint every inch of the Indian grounds with 413 fours during his illustrious IPL career, is ranked tenth. 

Read more: IPL Toss

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) 

1) Who in the IPL has hit the most fours?

Dhawan Shikhar.

2) Who had the most IPL sixes?

At the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Monday, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s match against Royal Challengers Bengaluru established the record for the most sixes struck by a team in an innings in the Indian Premier League.

3) Which IPL player has six fours?

Prithvi Shaw and Ajinkya Rahane. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top