Most runs conceded by a bowler in IPL

The Indian Premier League has made a name for itself as one of the sport’s most competitive leagues. Over the years, it has had a significant effect on cricket. Since the IPL began, hitters have developed new methods for scoring runs, which has made bowlers’ jobs more challenging. When a bowler isn’t feeling well, it might sometimes result in his being overpriced. Additionally, it depends on whether a certain batter is up against a bowler, as this could encourage him to take huge strokes. The IPL bowling performances where the bowlers gave up the most runs in an innings will be covered in this article.

Read more: Orange Cap in IPL

Basil Thampi of the Sunrisers Hyderabad bowling team conceded a record-breaking 70 runs in the 2018 Indian Premier League match against the Royal Challengers Bengaluru. In this encounter, RCB got off to a poor start as they lost their first two wickets for 38 runs. After that, AB de Villiers, Moeen Ali, and Colin de Grandhomme had some incredible innings that put SRH on the back foot. It was all about destroying everything on the pitch. Basil Thampi was the bowler who was most affected by this attack. After reaching 218/6 in 20 overs, the RCB concluded their innings and ultimately prevailed by a margin of 14 runs.

In the Gujarat Titans’ IPL match against the Kolkata Knight Riders, bowler Yash Dayal conceded 69 runs in his allotted four overs. Rinku Singh eventually chased 30 runs in the final over after smashing five sixes in his final over, sending him to the cleaners.

Ishant Sharma of the SRH did not have a good day with the ball in the 2013 IPL as he went for too many runs in his allotted four overs. Suresh Raina struck a fantastic 99 runs off 52 balls, including 11 fours and 3 sixes, to help CSK reach 223/3 in their 20 overs. Ishant Sharma set a record for the most costly bowling figures at the time when he gave up 66 runs in 4 overs. 

It was time for the SRH batters to go on the offensive with the bat as they amassed a score of 212/6 in 20 overs in the IPL 2019 match between SRH and Punjab. Their leading scorer, David Warner, amassed 81 runs off of 56 balls. The Punjab bowler who was most frequently targeted by the SRH hitters was Mujeeb Ur Rahman. It set a season record when he gave up 66 runs in 4 overs. This match was won by SRH by 45 runs as they held Punjab to 167/8.

The MI batters went crazy against the Punjab spinner Arshdeep Singh in the IPL 2023 match between PBKS and MI, smashing him for 66 runs in his 3.5 overs.

With 65 runs given up in an innings, Umesh Yadav, Sandeep Sharma, and Anrich Nortje are the next players on this undesirable list. When Umesh was with the Delhi franchise, he produced this awful bowling performance against the Royal Challengers of Bengal. Sandeep Sharma was the only bowler to finish their period without picking up a wicket. In a match against the SRH, Sandeep Sharma claimed one wicket but was dismissed for 65 runs. Sandeep participated for the Punjab team in this 2014 IPL game. Anrich Nortje was dismissed for 65 runs, including a 32-run over in the last over of the first innings of the match against MI in Mumbai, despite taking a few wickets in his four-over allotment.

Vijaykumar Vyshak (4-0-64-0) of Royal Challengers Bengaluru and Reece Topley (4-0-68-1) were the most recent additions to this list. They were put on the undesirable list as a result of Sunrisers Hyderabad’s (SRH) assault in match number thirty of the 2024 season. The pair combined to give up 132 runs in their 8 overs, but SRH went on to score a historic 287 runs in the first innings.

Worst Bowling Figures in IPL 2024

1Reece TopleyRCB68417
2Kwena MaphakaMI66416.5
3Anrich NortjeDC65416.25
4Vijaykumar VyshakRCB64416
5Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH60415
6Anrich NortjeDC59414.75
7Akash MadhwalMI57414.25
8Gerald CoetzeeMI57414.25
9Mustafizur RahmanCSK55413.75
10Varun ChakravarthyKKR55413.75

Worst Bowling Figures in an IPL innings

Basil Thampi470017.50RCB2018
Yash Dayal469017.20KKR2023
Reece Topley468117SRH2024
Ishant Sharma466016.50CSK2013
Mujeeb Ur Rahman466016.50SRH2019
Arshdeep Singh3.566117.20MI2023
Anrich Nortje465216.25MI2024
Umesh Yadav465016.25RCB2013
Sandeep Sharma465116.25SRH2014
Vijaykumar Vyshak464016SRH2024
Siddharth Kaul464216MI2020
Josh Hazlewood464016PBKS2022
Ashok Dinda463015.75MI2013

Read more: Most Expensive Player in the IPL

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1) In the IPL, which bowler let up the most runs in an over?

In one over, Prasanth Parameswaran and Harshal Patel had given up 37 runs.

2) In IPL history, who has scored the most runs in an over?

Chris Gayle and Ravindra Jadeja, who each scored 37 runs in an IPL over, share the record for most runs in an over.

3) Which bowler in IPL history is the most expensive?

The unfortunate record of bowling the worst stint in IPL history belongs to pacer Basil Thampi, who was born in Kerala.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top