India vs England T20 World Cup, Semi Final Match Highlights


No defending champion has ever advanced to the next T20 World Cup final, and India ensured that tradition continued with a commanding 68-run victory over England at Guyana’s Providence Stadium. They will now face South Africa, the only other unbeaten team in this edition, in Barbados for a place in history at the end of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

India faced a daunting task when assigned to bat first in the big semifinal, losing five out of five batting first in ICC tournaments since 2021. However, solid performances by Rohit Sharma (57) and Suryakumar Yadav (47), as well as three wickets for Axar Patel with the new ball, ensured that India were too strong for England on the day. Below are the highlights of the semi-final between India and England in Guyana.

It was a long day for bettors trying to implement an exciting t20 cricket betting strategy!

Where did the semi-final turn in India’s favor?

India had the game wrapped up when they scored 171, forcing the opposition to chase the highest-ever total in a day game in Guyana. The pitch became slower and lower, as Rohit Sharma predicted, and in retrospect, it was a wonderful toss to lose. Buttler chose to chase despite the wet forecast, but the decision came with the risk of batting second on a surface slowing by the minute. And England’s worst worries came true, with their troubles amplified in circumstances ideal for India’s slow bowlers.


After the scars of Adelaide 2022, India was not going to plod on, even if the conditions in Guyana were slow, low, and extremely different. The intent was clear in Rohit’s first boundary, a streaky leading edge over short third man, but the India captain persevered, even if it meant smashing one through Phil Salt’s hands at point. On the other end, Virat Kohli looked far less convincing early on while attempting to play the power game and fell after scoring run-a-ball 9, dropping his average this season to a poor 10.71. Rishabh Pant wasn’t the answer on the day, falling at mid-wicket in Sam Curran’s first over, but Rohit’s four boundaries kept India within striking distance of the par total, albeit in conditions where the odd ball stayed below the shin.

India has been the fastest-scoring team in the middle overs this season, and they have once again performed admirably, scoring at 8 runs per over in this phase. Rohit and Suryakumar Yadav combined for a spectacular 73 runs, increasing the run rate. There was a 75-minute rain break. Even after the resumption, the duo kept going hard at anything remotely loose and maintaining the tempo despite the lengthy pause in play. Curran received considerable hammering in his second over, conceding 19 runs. Rohit, in particular, was aggressive against Adil Rashid and eventually lost his wicket to the legspinner when a googly stayed low, but not before leading India through the difficult middle overs against the older ball.

Read More about- South Africa crushes Afghanistan to reach its first men’s World Cup final

How many will be sufficient on this pitch? India headed into the final batting lap with that question in mind, but the solutions proved difficult to come by. Suryakumar was caught in the deep by Chris Jordan eleven balls after Rohit was dismissed, mistiming a back-of-the-hand slower ball from Jofra Archer, forcing Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja, who had stepped out to bat ahead of Shivam Dube, to forge a comeback. Pandya then broke the shackles with back-to-back flat sixes against Jordan, but he fell while attempting to make it three out of three. When Dube fell for a golden duck in the opening over, it was up to Axar and Jadeja to guide India in the last seconds, and they did an outstanding job, scoring as many as 24 runs in the last two overs.


Axar Patel showed that he was still a nuisance for England. Given the ball in the PowerPlay, the left-arm spinner tricked Jos Buttler on the reverse sweep with his first ball, delivering India’s most significant breakthrough of the match. Jonny Bairstow was bowled by Axar’s next delivery, which skidded low. And in between these two wickets was a Jasprit Bumrah masterpiece. He bowls a quick off-break, which this time found its way through Phil Salt.

If Axar’s deliveries weren’t enough to trigger panic in the England camp, Kuldeep Yadav delivered a massive blow in his opening over to foreshadow what was to come. Lots of spin, uneven bounce, and no pace off the ground – all of which contributed to England’s defeat against the old ball. Axar once again bookended this phase of play, first stumping Moeen Ali down the legside and then running out Jofra Archer. But in the middle, Kuldeep played the protagonist. Curran and Jordan were caught lbw, but the pick of his three wickets was Harry Brook, who attempted back-to-back reverse sweeps against the spinner and lost his leg stump.

By the time both sides reached this round of the game, India was knocking on the doors of victory. Suryakumar’s run-out of Rashid and Bumrah’s lbw of Archer propelled India to yet another ICC final, their first at a T20 World Cup in ten years.

Also, check- ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winner List: 2024

For those involved in online betting in India, the final promises to be very exciting!

Brief Scores: India 171/7 (Rohit 57, Suryakumar 47; Jordan 3-37) defeated England 101 all out in 16.4 overs (Brook 25; Kuldeep 3-19, Axar 3-23, Bumrah 2-12.) by 68 runs.

Match Scorecard

India Batting

India batting CRR:8.55
Rohit Sharma (C)b A Rashid573962146.15
Virat Kohlib R Topley9901100
Rishabh Pant (WK)c J Bairstow b S Curran460066.67
Suryakumar Yadavc C Jordan b J Archer473642130.56
Hardik Pandyac S Curran b C Jordan231312176.92
Ravindra JadejaNot out17920188.89
Shivam Dubec J Buttler b C Jordan01000
Axar Patelc PD Salt b C Jordan10601166.67
Arshdeep SinghNot out1100100
Extras3 (b 0, Ib 2, w 1, nb 0, p 0)
Total171 (7 wkts, 20 Ov)

England Bowling

Reece Topley302518.33
Jofra Archer403318.25
Sam Curran2025112.5
Adil Rashid402516.25
Chris Jordan3037312.33
Liam Livingstone402406

England Batting

England batting CRR:6.18
Philip Saltb J Bumrah580062.5
Jos Buttler (WK/C)c R Pant b A Patel231540153.33
Moeen Alist R Pant b A Patel8100080
Jonny Bairstowb A Patel03000
Harry Brookb K Yadav251930131.58
Sam Curranlbw b K Yadav240050
Liam Livingstonerunout (A Patel / K Yadav)11160068.75
Chris Jordanlbw b K Yadav150020
Jofra Archerlbw b J Bumrah211512140
Adil Rashidrunout (S Yadav)2200100
Reece TopleyNot out3300100
Extras2 (b 0, Ib 2, w 0, nb 0, p 0)
Team total103 (10 wkts, 16.4 Ov)

Player Batting

Arshdeep Singh201708.5
Jasprit Bumrah2.401224.5
Axar Patel402335.75
Kuldeep Yadav401934.75
Ravindra Jadeja301605.33
Hardik Pandya1014014

Read More About- ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winner List: 2024

This article features written highlights from semi-finals of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. There is also an online page called the IPL 2024 Orange Cap List that provides current information on the T20 World Cup and IPL 2024.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top