Most Man of the Match in the IPL History

The IPL is the second-largest cricket tournament in the world after the Cricket World Cup. Every season numerous players help their teams win matches and walk away with the Man of the Match award.

Players who’ve won the most man of the match awards in ipl:  

Rank Player Teams Awards
1 AB de Villiers Royal Challengers Bangalore 25
2 Chris Gayle Punjab Kings 22
3 Rohit Sharma Mumbai Indians 19
4 David Warner Delhi Capitals 18
5 MS Dhoni Chennai Super Kings 17
6 Shane Watson Chennai Super Kings 16
7 Yusuf Pathan Kolkata Knight Riders 16
8 Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore 15
9 Suresh Raina Chennai Super Kings 14
10 Kieron Pollard Mumbai Indians 14

Read more: Who is the king of the IPL?

Most Man Of The Match in IPL

1) AB De Villiers

Legendary South African and Royal Challengers Bangalore batsman AB de Villiers has won the most “Man of the Match” accolades in Indian Premier League history. De Villiers, who played for the Delhi Daredevils and the Royal Challengers Bangalore from 2008 to 21, received a total of 25 such awards for his game-changing heists.

2) Chris Gayle

Christopher Henry Gayle, a former RCB teammate of De Villiers and one of the most influential cricketers this league has ever seen, comes in second place. Over his 142 IPL matches, Gayle received a total of 22 “Man of the Match” accolades.

3) Rohit Sharma

The three-time IPL champion captain, Rohit Sharma, has won up to eighteen “Man of the Match” honors.

4) David Warner

David Warner, a former captain of the SunRisers Hyderabad, has also won the MOM award eighteen times.

5) Mahendra Singh Dhoni

The legendary captain of CSK, MS Dhoni, completes the top-5 with a record 17 “Man of the Match” honors.

Legendary all-rounder Shane Watson (16), Yusuf Pathan (16), Suresh Raina (14), Kieron Pollard (14), and the 14-time winner of the prized accolade, Virat Kohli, complete the bottom five.

Read more: Fastest Century of the IPL 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1) Who has won more IPL Man of the Match honors?

With a whopping 25 “Player of the Match” accolades, De Villiers is at the top of the list. He has accumulated 5162 runs in 170 innings during his IPL career, displaying an incredible strike rate of 151.68.

2) Who is the IPL’s top captain?

Holding the record for most matches played as a captain is MS Dhoni, who has led 226 IPL matches and won 133 of them with a victory percentage of 58.85%.

3) In the IPL, which teams did De Villiers represent?

Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Daredevils.


Related Articles:

For more IPL-related information, you can check on Orange Cap in IPL.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top