Fastest Century in the IPL

The IPL is the pinnacle of franchise cricket because it is where the top players collaborate and compete in the T20s, leading to nothing less than an amazing cricketing experience! Records are designed to be broken when the best cricket players are gathered in one arena and play the best T20 cricket.

One such statistic is the fastest hundreds made in the IPL to date, and players have consistently put up incredible batting performances season after season. These hundreds came at a strike rate that utterly destroyed the opposition and helped their side win the game. Here is a look at the top 10 fastest hundreds ever scored in the IPL over the years:

1Chris GaylePWI30175*M. Chinnaswamy Stadium23-Apr-13
2Yusuf PathanMI37100Brabourne Stadium13-Mar-10
3David MillerRCB38101*IS Bindra Stadium06-May-13
4Adam GilchristMI42109*DY Patil Stadium27-Apr-08
5AB de VilliersGL43129*M. Chinnaswamy Stadium14-May-16
6David WarnerKKR43126Rajiv Gandhi Intl. Cricket Stadium30-Apr-17
7Sanath JayasuriyaCSK45114*Wankhede Stadium14-May-08
8Mayank AgarwalRR45106Sharjah Stadium27-Sep-20
9Murali VijayRR46127Chidambaram03-Apr-10
10Chris GayleKXIP46117M. Chinnaswamy Stadium06-May-15

Top 3 fastest centuries in IPL history: 

1) Chris Gayle (30 balls)

After hitting a solid 175* against Pune Warriors India in the 2013 IPL, Christopher Henry Gayle is ranked #1. In just thirty balls, he reached the hundred mark, hitting thirteen boundaries and clearing the boundary seventeen times! As the total reached 263-5 after 20 overs, the Universe Boss’ innings also assisted RCB in shattering the record for the highest team score in the IPL. Chris Gayle received the Player of the Match award after this massive knock.

Read More- List of Centuries in the IPL

2) Yusuf Pathan (37 balls)

Similar actions were taken by explosive batter Yusuf Pathan against the Mumbai Indians team. In the championship’s first year, he went on to smash a tonne off 37 deliveries. Before Chris Gayle shattered it after five seasons, he was the owner of the fastest tonne record. The innings of the all-rounders featured nine fours and eight maximums. He was run out just as the Rajasthan Royals were about to pull off a historic triumph, and the Mumbai Indians won by a score of four runs. Nevertheless, Pathan’s incredible hundred earned him the Player of the Match accolade.

3) David Miller (38 balls)

Proteas’s firepower David Miller reached his century against a helpless Royal Challengers Bangalore team with needing one extra delivery. Miller became a part of the IPL’s illustrious history by hitting a century in 38 balls. During this particular innings, Kings XI Punjab was trailing 64–4 in the match and needed to climb a steep mountain of 191 to win. At this point, Miller really started to shine, thoroughly dominating the RCB bowlers and winning the match for the Kings XI with two overs remaining! He blasted eight balls through the fence and seven sixes in his spectacular performance. David won the Player of the Match honours for his knock that saved his team from a certain defeat.

Read More- Most sixes in the IPL by team

Fastest Century in the IPL FAQs

Q1) In the IPL, who has scored the fastest century?

At the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, West Indian T20 Legend Chris Gayle struck a massive 175 runs in just 30 balls against Pune Warriors India (PWI), setting the record for the fastest century in IPL history.

Q2) In IPL history, who Indian player has the fastest 100?

The fastest century ever scored by an Indian player in the history of the Indian Premier League is held by Yusuf Pathan. In the first season, he crushed the Mumbai Indians, scoring a century in 37 deliveries.

Q3. David Miller made a century in 38 balls against which team?

Bangalore’s Royal Challengers

Read More About: Orange Cap in IPL

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top