MI’s Lowest Score in The IPL (2008-2024)

The five-time IPL champions MI twice achieved its lowest score in the history of the league, 87 runs, against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2018 and Kings XI Punjab (now known as Punjab Kings) in 2011. Here’s a list of MI’s 10 lowest totals in the IPL:

Mumbai Indians (MI) Top 10 List with Lowest IPL Score: 

Score Overs Against Venue Date
87 18.5 SRH Wankhede 24 Apr 2018
87 12.5 KXIP Mohali 10 May 2011
92 19.2 DC Wankhede 16 April 2012
92 18.2 RR Jaipur 17 Apr 2013
92 16.3 SRH Visakhapatnam 8 May 2016
94/8 20 RR Jaipur 29 Apr 2011
101/9 20 Pune Warriors Wankhede 6 Apr 2012
108 19.1 KKR Wankhede 16 May 2012
111 18.1 RCB Dubai (DSC) 26 Sep 2021
113 17.3 KKR DY Patil 9 May 2022

87/10 – 2018 MI vs. SRH

The May 2018 meeting between the Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad is a match that the team will never forget. At the Wankhede Stadium, their bowlers had held the opposition to just 118 runs. However, MI batters found it difficult to get going early on. With little runs scored by Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan, and Rohit Sharma, they lost their first three wickets for just 21 runs. After a 40-run partnership with Krunal Pandya, the team collapsed and was bowled out for just 87 runs in the 19th over of the innings. MI recorded their joint-lowest score in IPL history, with just Suryakumar Yadav and Krunal reaching double figures.

87/10 – 2011: MI vs. KXIP

When MI played Punjab Kings (then known as Kings XI Punjab) in 2011, they scored 87 runs, which was their lowest total. The squad was unable to even reach the 100-run threshold in Mohali, where they were trailing 164 runs. At that time, no hitter had scored more than 20 runs under the leadership of Sachin Tendulkar. Just four batsmen scored more than ten runs, with Kieron Pollard leading the way with 17.

92/10 – 2012: MI vs. DC

MI’s third-lowest IPL total ever was 92, which they scored against the Delhi Capitals (formerly known as the Delhi Daredevils) in the 2012 IPL edition. In this game, Harbhajan Singh led the team in scoring with 33 runs and was also the captain. With 29 runs scored, Rohit Sharma was the only other batter to reach double digits. But MI was limited to just 92 runs, while the other batters were essentially unable to purchase a run. In the fifteenth over of the innings, Delhi Daredevils took seven wickets in an attempt to reduce the total.

92/10: 2013’s MI vs. RR

The Rajasthan Royals defeated MI in April 2013 with a score that was tied for the third-lowest in IPL history. MI was once again bowled out for 92 runs while behind 180 runs. Ambati Rayudu and Dinesh Karthik both put up a fight in the middle, scoring 30 and 27 runs, respectively. The Royals bowling lineup worked well together to win the match by a comfortable margin of 87 runs, with the Dinesh Karthik-led team struggling to keep up.

92/10 – 2016: MI vs. SRH

As they held a total of 178 runs in the IPL 2016, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s bowlers were once again at the top of their game. With their top scorer, Harbhajan Singh, managing just 92 runs before being swept out in the 17th over of the innings, the Rohit Sharma-led team once again struggled in the chase. The main wrecker, Ashish Nehra, claimed three wickets for a meager 15 runs throughout his session.

Read more: Orange Cap in IPL

94/8 – V RR (2011)

Rajasthan Royals, the home side of the IPL 2011, put on a masterful bowling display at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur against the Mumbai Indians. With just 94 runs for the cost of 8 wickets in their 20 overs, MI recorded their sixth-lowest IPL total. Five hitters for the Sachin Tendulkar-led squad reached double figures, but none of them was able to deliver a significant blow as MI faltered throughout the innings.

MI vs. PWI, 2012, 101/9

In the 2012 edition, MI’s score against Pune Warriors was the seventh-lowest in IPL history. They failed to reach their target of 130 runs, losing nine wickets in 20 overs and managing to score just 101 runs. In an attempt to mount a comeback, James Franklin and Dinesh Karthik both scored 32 runs after being reduced to 5/3 in the second over. But after their alliance was shattered, MI could manage just 101 runs in their 20 overs, so it was all one-way traffic.

108/10 – 2012 MI vs. KKR

MI recorded their eighth-lowest IPL score in the 2012 season, this time against the Kolkata Knight Riders. The Mumbai Indians failed to capitalize on a total of 141 runs at their own Wankhede Stadium, capping yet another botched chase. The top five batters all received starts, but none of them could surpass Sachin Tendulkar’s 27 runs scored. As MI only managed 108 runs in the chase, Sunil Narine was the star with the ball for KKR, taking 4 wickets for just 15 runs.

111/10 – 2021 MI vs. RCB

In the 2021 season, MI’s IPL score was the ninth lowest. In Dubai, RCB displayed their finest performance as they held 165 runs to win, thanks to the combined seven wickets of Yuzvendra Chahal and Harshal Patel. Before they fell apart, Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock enjoyed a 57-run partnership, hitting 43 and 27 runs, respectively. After an outstanding opening partnership, MI lost all 10 of their wickets for just 54 runs, as they were skittled for 111 runs in the 19th over of the innings.

113/10: 2022 MI vs. KKR

Last year, in IPL 2022, MI recorded their tenth-lowest IPL score against their beloved opponents, KKR. MI was fortunate to have Ishan Kishan score 51 runs off 43 balls while trailing 166 runs, but the other hitters failed to muster much of an effort, as they were dismissed for just 113 runs in the 18th over of the innings.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1) Which MI scorecard has the lowest overall in IPL history?

MI has the lowest-ever IPL score of 87.

2) In the IPL 2022, what is a team’s lowest score?

At 68 runs, RCB’s team total in the 2022 Indian Premier League was the lowest.

3) What is the highest MI IPL score?

MI’s IPL record-setting score of 235 came against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Related Articles:

For more IPL-related information, you can check on Orange Cap in IPL.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top