IPL 2015 Final

Mumbai Indians Won IPL 2015 Final Match

IPL 2015 Highlights-

After being bottom of the table for the first two weeks of the competition, the Mumbai Indians pulled off one of the most incredible comebacks in the eight-year history of the Indian Premier League to win the championship of ipl 2015 final.

Chennai Super Kings 161 for 8 (Smith 57, McClenaghan 3-25, Harbhajan 2-34) lost to Mumbai Indians 202 for 5 (Simmons 68, Rohit 50, Bravo 2-36) by 41 runs.

After being bottom of the table for the first two weeks of the competition, the Mumbai Indians pulled off one of the most incredible comebacks in the eight-year history of the Indian Premier League to win the championship.

Which Player Won Man of The Final in IPL 2015- Rohit Sharma

The final proved to be one of the easier matches after an unrestrained early assault by Rohit Sharma and Lendl Simmons, both of whom hit half-centuries, stunned Chennai Super Kings, seasoned IPL finals players, into submission. The final was a rematch of their 2013 triumph at the same venue against the same opposition. Not even a smell was offered to the Super Kings.

It was an interesting move by MS Dhoni to bowl first on a patchy Eden Gardens pitch, not because he might have overcompensated for the presence of dew later on, but because it was a change from the Super Kings’ two previous title-winning strategies of batting first, scoring big, then applying pressure.

The opening exchanges were flawless; Faf du Plessis superbly removed Parthiv Patel, and Ashish Nehra ensured that just one wicket fell in the first over. However, that was the last time the Super Kings pursued the ball as Rohit ripped through the second over, hitting Mohit Sharma for sixteen.

After stepping too far once, R Ashwin—brought on in the fourth overpaid the price with a 12-run over. Simmons hit Jadeja for 14 runs after he was bowled during the Powerplay, bringing the total number of runs scored from the first six overs to 61. Simmons caught up to Rohit after the latter had started the innings with a barrage of boundaries in the first three overs. Simmons had played all but one ball in the subsequent three overs.

The little outfield would not be impacted by the field’s spreading. In the tenth over, Simmons reached his sixth half-century of the season by hogging the bulk of strikes and continuing to locate boundaries.

The run rate did not appear to be slowing down, but Dhoni was still able to contain Dwayne Bravo, the tournament’s top wicket-taker. Unfortunately, Bravo broke the hazardous partnership in his opening over, which came at the 12th of the innings. By then, Rohit had already completed his half-century off of just 24 balls, and the run-rate was close to 10.

A passionate speech delivered by Dhoni during the team meeting following Rohit’s removal had a momentary impact: Dwayne Smith dismissed Simmons with his opening ball of the tournament, and 30 runs were scored in four overs. However, when Kieron Pollard and Ambati Rayudu warmed up for 16 overs, the Mumbai Indians looked poised to explode at 150.

Pollard hit Nehra for three sixes and a four in the 17th over, but Nehra took the brunt of the blow, and Mumbai Indians finished with just the second-highest total in IPL final history.

Super Kings were in need of an early boost, but it never materialized. Smith found it difficult to time the ball, as he had all season. Although he did score his second half-century of the season, Super Kings required more from him than a 118-strike rate. After removing Raina, Harbhajan Singh removed Smith within the next over. Malinga also scored, and Mitchell McClenaghan claimed three. The Super Kings were now in their fifth year of not having won a third championship.

Read more: IPL Team and their Logos

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1) How many times did MI and CSK make it to the finals of the IPL?

This was CSK’s sixth appearance in an IPL final. For MI, it was their third IPL final. 

2) How many titles did MI and CSK win until this point? 

With this win, MI was on level with CSK with 2 titles. 

3) Until this game, what was the Head-to-Head record between these two sides in the IPL finals?

Both these teams had played each other in 2 finals before this game, with both winning apiece. 

Related Articles:

For more IPL-related information, you can check on Orange Cap in IPL.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top